Gold-Medal Swimmer Admits To Illegal Move In 100m Breaststroke
Cheaters never win… Well, sometimes they do, but karma always comes around to get them in the end. The South African swimmer who took gold in the 100m Breaststroke recently admitted to taking extra dolphin kicks during his world-record setting win.
Cameron van der Burgh fessed up that he took illegal dolphin kicks during his winning performance. The rules state that swimmers are only allowed one dolphin kick underwater. If officials at the time had caught him, the extra kicks would have disqualified him.
“If you’re not doing it, you’re falling behind. It’s not obviously — shall we say — the moral thing to do, but I’m not willing to sacrifice my personal performance and four years of hard work for someone that is willing to do it and get away with it, ” van der Burgh told reporters. ”It’s got to the sort of point where if you’re not doing it you’re falling behind or your giving yourself a disadvantage so everyone’s pushing the rules and pushing the boundaries, so if you’re not doing it, you’re not trying hard enough.”
His confession could prompt a review of the underwater footage and force the removal of his medal, although, the consequences of van der Burgh’s admission are yet to be seen. However, the IOC has been quick to enforce fair play at the London Games. Several badminton players were banned when it came to light they were deliberately throwing their games. A runner is also in the hot seat for jogging during a race in order to rest for another event.